Servers

From DayZ Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
This page covers the Standalone version of DayZ. For information on the Mod see Mod:Servers

The Servers are the computers that host DayZ Standalone. DayZ servers are all connected to a central database called the 'Hive', which is responsible for remembering character data and allowing players to use their same survivor on different servers. They are several types of servers used and distributed across the real world. Public and Private servers are made available by Bohemia Interactive Studios through host distributors and administrated by the server owner.

NOTE: Official DayZ server maintenance and downtime occurs every Wednesday at 0700 GMT.
During this time period, all servers connected to the central hive will be offline and players will be unable to connect to servers for an expected 3-hour maintenance window or until maintenance is completed.


Joining, Leaving and Changing Server[edit | edit source]

When joining a servers your character will be in the same place, with the same equipment you left off unless you join a server connected to a different database. From the Title Screen, select "Play" to join the last server you had played, or select "Change server" to go over a list of available servers, you may also view your server history and servers which your friends are present on through their respective tabs.

Currently there are preventive measures in place to deter unfair gameplay, these measures are in place in the form of timer-based functions. The functions are as follows:

  • Changing Servers - A sixty (60) second timer will be in place before you spawn if you have been on a different server within the last five (5) minutes, . This is a measure taken as a deterrent to server-hopping -- when players switch servers to find more desirable loot.
  • Log-out timer - A thirty (30) second timer will begin upon disconnection and will keep your character in its place until it expires, this is in effect for all circumstances which you disconnect from the server. This is a measure taken to prevent combat logging (leaving to avoid current circumstances or to avoid possible death) and to ensure continuity and fair play or face possible consequence during encounters.

Server Names[edit | edit source]

Choosing the right server has crucial meaning for the quality and difficulty of gameplay. DayZ uses a generally accepted naming convention for servers, which makes it easier to digest information about the server's settings and location at a glance. Choosing the right server parameters will let you play with options that matching your likings and possibly avoiding language problems.

A common convention of server naming is as shown:

DayZ <City/State/Province> <Server Number> (<Difficulty/Settings/Other Info>) <DayZ Version Number> - hosted by <Server Host>

Breakdown:

  • City/State Province: Set to give a general location of where a particular server is located. In the US, usually this will contain the city. In other locations, it may contain a country name or territory name.
  • Server Number: This number is used to distinguish between other servers that may have nearly identical information. More often than not, the number is somewhere between 1 and 9999, and is randomly chosen.
  • Difficulty/Settings/Other Info: Contains information regarding server settings. In the DayZ mod, there were difficulty levels implemented, and this was the place to put them. In the event that something similar is implemented for the Standalone, that kind of information should be placed here. Other pertinent info can also be listed here, but it's best to keep it short.
  • DayZ Version Number: - The build number for the version of DayZ that is running on the server. It's very important to update this number whenever a server does an update, because it helps players see which servers are running older versions of the game.
  • Server Host: Servers which are hosted using 3rd party services are sometimes required to place the "hosted by Company X" tag at the end of the server title, mostly as a form of advertisement.

Example:

DayZ US 293 (Public/Veteran, First Person, 24hr day cycle) v113772 - hosted by SuperServers

Filters[edit | edit source]

You can add various filters to refine your search, by using the Filter command in the bottom left of the server browser. Possible filters:

  • Host: here you can enter a part of the server name (using the standard symbols), for example to view servers only from a given time zone.
  • Max ping: Omits servers which have ping above the filter's limit. By default, it is set to only show servers with a ping of less than 100. You may want to change it if you have a weak internet connection or want to show international servers as well. Be ware that higher values will affect your gameplay causing lag and sync issues, especially during encounters.
  • Max ping: maximum ping shouldn't extend over 50ms, which guarantees a fluent gameplay. Set a higher value only if your Internet connection doesn't let you get better times or when no server appear on your setting. 100ms should be considered the upper limit.
  • Minimum players: Set the minimum amount of players you want in the game. Can be use to to filter empty or low-population servers.
  • Maximum players: Set the maximum threshold of total player slots per server. Can be use to filter over-crowded servers.

Persistence and Restarts[edit | edit source]

Since update 0.50, all Public servers have Persistence enabled by default. However, as of 0.59, only limited gameplay material such as vehicles, their parts and world containers will retain persistence through a server restart.

Persistence of world items is only applicable to their home-server and cannot be carried on to other servers unless the items are carried by your character.

During a server restart, as like a computer, it will be refreshed/restarted, players will lose connection, loot and similar gameplay items and events will be refreshed. Certain gameplay material such as vehicles or items may be respawned or removed if they have reached the end of their lifetime, and dynamic areas such as Helicopter crash sites and their loot will respawn in their new respective locations. Server restarts may sometimes be automatic and time-based or manually done by a server administrator, it will usually take anywhere from seconds to minutes before the server completely restarts and appears visible and functional again.

In the event of a disconnection caused by the host server itself or the linked database -- there may usually be a rollback of server data which as a result, will bring a player, his location and most items in the world to their locations and statuses during the time of actual server disconnection.

Types of Servers[edit | edit source]

All DayZ Standalone servers are linked to a central database called the 'Hive'. A Hive is the database that maintains all characters' info (equipment, location, status etc). There are three types of hives: public hives, private shards, or private hives. Players will be able to use the same survivor on each hive they connect to, and will be able travel freely between all servers connected to it.

  • A Public Hive is the main hive that is maintained and operated by BIS. These are servers that anyone can play on, and they are the most numerous with the biggest player base.
  • A Private Shards allows communities to have their own private servers without it affecting the main hive, without those private communities affecting the main database. A private shards can contain a single or a group of rented servers. Players would only be able to jump between servers on that private shard.[1]
  • A Private Hive uses separate database not managed by BIS, so an admin can do whatever they want with the database (eventually including modding). Like the private shards it can contain a single or a group of rented servers and players would only be able to jump between servers on that private shard.[1]

Camera Perspective[edit | edit source]

One other difference between servers is whether or not you have the ability to use the "third person" perspective. Servers where you are able to do this are listed as "1st/3rd Person", and servers where you are only able to use the "first person" perspective are simply labeled "1st Person." By default, you can toggle between the camera modes using the Enter key. A visual example of the two can be found below.

External links[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 Forum post by SmashT